Water Marbled

31 Day Nail Challenge – Day 20 – Water Marbled Nails

I have always seen water marbled nails and thought it looked really cool, but this was the first time I’ve actually tried it out. I found it a little tricky to get used to, time-consuming and annoying at times but the pattern on the nail is well worth giving it a go.

You will need:

  • A little pot of water
  • Around 3/4 colored polishes
  • A ‘stirring stick’ – I used a cuticle stick
  • Tissues
  • Tape for the clean up process
How to:
  • Paint all nails with a base coat, preferably a natural color (with this technique, some polishes are translucent so you need a good base)
  • The next steps are to be done one nail at a time;
  • Tape off all the skin surrounding the nail, at least halfway up the finger – trust me, this is the easiest clean up solution
  • Unscrew all the lids off you polishes
  • Drop 1 bit of each polish into the water
  • Working quickly, use the stick to create a mini design in the water
  • With the nail facing downward, place you finger into the water, trying to aim for the part of the design you like the most
  • Hold the finger in the water for a few seconds, using the stick to clear away the floating polish debris
  • Remove finger, remove tape, dry finger and topcoat
  • Add new polish to the water for each nail
Some people suggest using cuticle oil instead of tape, this didn’t really work for me and the polish is soo annoying to clean off the whole finger!
TBH, I found this technique to be quite annoyingly time wasting, and was a little disappointed at how faded the colors were – please comment if you can suggest any improvements. In the end I just added a crackle to liven it up a bit.
However much I failed, other nail artists have had success with this technique so check out their designs:
(I swear I’m not stalking Nailasaurus – I know use as reference pic every second post but the designs are just so pretty)

The 31 day nail challenge is basically a list of inspirations/guidelines for nail designs.

Today’s was water marbled nails, check back tomorrow for an ombre design…

