Stripes

31 Day Nail Challenge – Day 12 – Stripy Nails

Hooray! My nails are finally strong enough for me to carry on with the 31 Day Nail Challenge 🙂 With stripes, I wanted to mix up the design with a very natural color, so here I went for a new shade of orange against my actual nail with only a shimmer on, am quite liking the results…

I usually cut my own stripes of scotch tape, but they are always too thick or even tear on removal, so I finally found my own version of striping tape, which worked really well

  • Paint on your base color – I really would suggest keeping it as close to your natural nail as possible
  • Wait for the paint to COMPLETELY dry
  • Stick on your tape
  • Paint each nail in the second polish, then remove the tape as soon as you are happy with the thickness else you’ll risk pulling up the previous layer
  • Topcoat and admire!

The pattern of stripes here is also somthing I like, it’s horizontal on the thumb, then rotates a bit on each nail 🙂

I’m suggesting try natural + turquoise for a really funky look, or navys and reds for a nautical feel. If you don’t have any tape, be brave and try it freehand!

The 31 day nail challenge is basically a list of inspirations/guidelines for nail designs.

Today’s was stripy nails, check back tomorrow for a fresh + fun animal print…

