Polka Dots


31 Day Nail Challenge – Day 11 – Polka Dot Nails

Another double design, plus the debut of my sisters nails! Polka dots are really fun and absolutely beyond easy to do. They are a great way to mix colors, therefore quite cool for summer. The top design is what I wore over Easter weekend, it’s a shame I didn’t get to share them beforehand.

Polka dots = really simple. You don’t even need a dotting tool;

  • A nail pen can create good dots
  • The tip of a biro or pencil will work, the sharper the pencil the smaller the dot
  • You can even create a dotting tool by sticking a pin into an eraser, see here for how to
Once you’ve got your tool, the rest is pretty simple. Paint nail, add dots…
The first design is based on this awesome festival-style set by Little Green Heart:

The second design (on my sisters nails) is based on a nail set I saw a while ago, but I can’t find it anywhere anymore! Let me know if you see anything similar. Whilst searching for that, I came across this other polka dot design, very similar pattern to the first, but the color scheme gives it a completely different feel!

The 31 day nail challenge is basically a list of inspirations/guidelines for nail designs.

